The City of Ruidoso Downs
The official website for the City of Ruidoso Downs, NM


Meet Your City Officials

Welcome from Mayor Williams

A warm hello to all who call Ruidoso Downs home and visitors to our eclectic community. With a vibrant commercial zone, the world-famous Ruidoso Downs racetrack, friendly residents and a commitment to economic growth, the City of Ruidoso Downs offers small city friendliness, affordability and quality of life in Southern New Mexico. 

Visit soon and often. You will always have a friend in Ruidoso Downs.

Please feel free to contact me directly with any questions or concerns at 575-378-4422 or

Most sincerely,
Gary L. Williams, Mayor




123 Downs Drive
Ruidoso Downs, NM 88346

(575) 378-4422


Elected Officials



Gary L. Williams
Term of Office: March 2016-March 2020
103 Acequia
Ruidoso Downs, NM  88346
T: 575-378-7068
C: 575-430-1816

city Council

Judy R. Miller (Mayor Pro Tem)
Term of Office: March 2016-March 2020
146 E. Circle Drive
Ruidoso Downs, NM  88346
T: 575-378-4823
C: 575-937-4847

Tom E. Armstrong Sr.
Term of Office:  March 2018-March 2022
120 Valley View Lane
Ruidoso Downs, NM  88346
T: 575-378-4763
C: 575-937-3844

Shane Walker
Term of Office: March 2018-March 2022
102 Harris Lane
Ruidoso Downs, NM  88346
T: 575-626-7099
C: 575-808-0446

Jimmy G. Romero
Term of Office: March 2016-March 2020
119 River Lane
Ruidoso Downs, NM  88346
C: 575-973-7094


municipal judge

Harrold Ray Mansell


Public meetings & Notices


  • 4:30 pm (during winter months); 5:30 pm (during Daylight Savings Time)

  • The 2nd and 4th Monday of the month.

  • City Hall
    122 Downs Dr.
    Ruidoso Downs, NM 88436

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.



City Hall Personnel

City Clerk/Treasurer - Carol Virden    ext. 1029

Assistant City Clerk - Ally Giron    ext. 1022

Code Compliance Officer - Gilbert Morales    ext. 1021

Compliance Assistant - Eli Polaco   

Court Administrator - Virginia Armstrong   ext. 1060

Finance Director/CPO - Mary Castaneda  ext.1020

Planning Services Director - VACANT ext. 1040

Planning Services Administrative Assistant/GIS Technician - Stephanie Warren   ext. 1041

Human Resource Specialist - Donna Miller    ext. 1025

Utility Clerk - Kathy Tetreault     ext. 1023




Organizational Chart   

Phone List